|One of the household slave's quarters, located in an outbuilding|
The mansion was originally built from 1802 to 1818 by George Washington Parke Custis, the grandson of Martha Dandridge Custis. George Custis had been raised from infancy by his grandmother and her second husband, George Washington. On his grandmother's death in 1802, Custis inherited her estates and enslaved workers, including 1100 acres on the Potomac.
|View of Washington D.C. from the Arlington House|
|Dining room, where Robert E. Lee proposed to Mary Anna Randolph Custis|
|Colonel and Mrs. Lee's bedroom, with small sick room / birthing room attached|
|Robert E. Lee's desk and spittoon|
|Child's desk chair|
Of the original 1100 acres of the estate, now only 19 are within the boundaries of Arlington House, the Robert E. Memorial. We were able to explore the first and second floors of the main house, the north and south slave quarters, the kitchen and flower gardens, and a small museum located in the old potting shed.
Next: The National Geographic Museum